skip to content

Cambridge Cardiovascular


Centre funding recipients: Please use the following text to acknowledge the Centre support in your publications: [Name] was supported by the Cambridge BHF Centre of Research Excellence [RE/18/1/34212]”

The British Heart Foundation (BHF) has awarded the University of Cambridge £6.6 million to expand and accelerate its pioneering work through the Cambridge BHF Centre of Research Excellence.

The renewed Centre (2019-2024) is led by Prof Martin Bennett and managed byDr Jane Sugars, and brings together 32 world-leading research groups across the University of Cambridge and several interdisciplinary institutes: Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, the Babraham Institute, the Wellcome-MRC Cambridge Stem Cell Institute,  the MRC Biostatistics Unit, the MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit ,  the MRC Epidemiology Unit. and the Institute of Metabolic Science.

The Centre provides a focus for cardiovascular researchers in Cambridge and strengthens internal collaborations through funding for studentships, fellowships, and pilot projects. It also supports the integration of research groups within the new Victor Phillip Dahdaleh Heart and Lung Research Institute (HLRI) 

The overarching aim of the Centre is to advance understanding of cardiovascular conditions by applying our combined expertise in generating assumption-free approaches.

The Centre has four main research themes:

Research is carried out by the BHF Cambridge Centre of Excellence (CRE) Priciple Investigators (PI's), Co-investigators, Collaborators and Associated PI's

The Centre is led by the BHF Cambridge Centre of Excellence (CRE) Steering Group representing the main research themes above.


Cambridge Cardiovascular logo - transparent

We connect cardiovascular researchers in Cambridge and beyond.

For inquiries about our research, please contact Dr Jane Sugars

For enquiries about our website or joining Cambridge Cardiovascular, please contact Denise Hatherly

Find us on LinkedIn


Follow us on X

Please follow us here on X for local news about research, events, funding calls, and open positions.

You must be logged into X to see our feed here:

Our Newsletter

             Subscribe here

        Previous Newsletters


Find us on YouTube