skip to content

Cambridge Cardiovascular


BHF Cambridge Centre of Excellence (CRE) Investigators

2019-2024 Award DirectorProfessor Martin Bennett 

Theme Leads*


Professor John Danesh

Population Sciences


Professor Ziad Mallat

Vascular Medicine


Professor Nicole Soranzo

Functional Genomics


Professor Antonio Vidal-Puig

Cardiometabolic Medicine



Dr Matthew Hurles 

Professor Thomas Krieg

Professor Hugh Markus

Professor Nicholas Morrell**

Professor Susan Ozanne

Professor Sylvia Richardson**

Professor Sanjay Sinha

Dr Sarah Teichmann

Professor Nicholas Wareham

Professor Ian Wilkinson




Professor Adam Butterworth

Professor Murray Clarke 

Professor Menna Clatworthy

Professor Emanuele Di Angelantonio

Dr Brian Ference**

Dr Mattia Frontini**

Dr Daniel Gaffney**

Professor Dino A Giussani

Professor Julian Griffin**

Dr Michael Inouye

Dr Michelle Linterman

Professor Michael Murphy

Dr Dirk Paul**

Professor James Rudd

Dr Gosia Trynka

Professor Mihaela van der Schaar

Professor Angela Wood

Associated PI's

Dr Soren Brage

Professor Christi Deaton 

Dr Nicholas Evans 

Dr Cedric Ghevaert 

Dr Helle Jørgensen 

Dr Wei Li

Dr Xuan Li 

Professor Geoffrey Moggridge

Dr Meritxell Nus

Dr Elaine Soon

Dr Jason Tarkin

Dr Mark Toshner

Dr Richard Tyser 

Dr Ana Vujic


*eligible to apply for BHF CRE pump priming funds

**has now left the CRE






Cambridge Cardiovascular logo - transparent

We connect cardiovascular researchers in Cambridge and beyond.

For inquiries about our research, please contact Dr Jane Sugars

For enquiries about our website or joining Cambridge Cardiovascular, please contact Denise Hatherly

Find us on LinkedIn


Follow us on X

Please follow us here on X for local news about research, events, funding calls, and open positions.

You must be logged into X to see our feed here:

Our Newsletter

Click on the image below for previous Newsletters and for our Email sign up form


Find us on YouTube